Pioneer Award

This award was bestowed to individuals in recognition of their pioneering work improving the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease.

2017 Recipient: Stuart Jamieson


Stuart Jamieson
Stuart Jamieson receives the ISHLT Pioneer Award on April 5, 2017. ISHLT President Maryl Johnson, MD and Stuart Jamieson, MB, FRCS

Stuart JamiesonStuart W. Jamieson, MB, FRCS is a cardiothoracic surgeon and expert in heart and lung transplantation and pulmonary thromboendarterectomy.  He earned his medical degree from University of London and holds an honorary degree from the Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich. He served as chief resident and postdoctoral fellow of Cardiovascular Surgery and the Cardiac Transplantation Service at Stanford University. He went on to direct the Heart and Lung Transplantation Program at Stanford Health Care, where he was involved in the first successful heart and lung transplants in the world. He subsequently served as professor and head of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the University of Minnesota and founder and director of the Minnesota Heart and Lung Institute, where he performed the first heart/lung, double lung and lung transplants in the Midwest.

Dr. Jamieson came to UC San Diego in 1989 as head of the Division of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery and professor in the Department of Surgery.  He is one of the founding members of Sulpizio Cardiovascular Center at UC San Diego Health and is known throughout the world for his ground-breaking research and surgical innovations.

Dr. Jamieson is the author of two books and more than 500 scientific papers, including the original descriptions of the techniques used for heart/lung and double lung transplants. He is chancellor of the World Society of Cardiothoracic Surgeons, a founding member and past president of the International Society for Heart and Lung Transplantation and a recipient of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

Dr. Jamieson is a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons (FRCS), the American College of Surgeons (FACS), the American College of Cardiology (FACC), and the American College of Chest Physicians (FACCP).


Past Pioneer Award Recipients:

2016: Sir Roy Calne
2015: Bruno Reichart, MD
2013: Jack G. Copeland, MD
2011: Elizabeth Hammond, MD
2009: Christian Cabrol, MD
2008: Richard E. Lower, MD
2006: Leonard L. Bailey, MD
2002: Michael De Bakey, MD and Bruce Reitz, MD
2000: Christiaan Barnard, MD, Joel D. Cooper, MD, and Norman E. Shumway, MD


Lifetime Service Award

This award was bestowed to ISHLT members in recognition of their dedication and service to the Society.


1997: Jacques Losman
1996: Michael Kaye

ISHLT Distinguished Educator Award

2014: James K. Kirklin, MD